Skip to main content


Community Choice Credit Union (CCCU) is a member-owned cooperative that was established, and continues to operate, on the principle of members helping members. CCCU is a not-for-profit organization. In essence, this means after meeting essential reserve requirements and paying operating expenses, profits are returned to our members in the form of higher savings dividends, lower loan rates, reduced rates for other member services, and the addition of other products and services. We hold the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) motto "Not for Profit, Not for Charity, But for Service" in the highest regard. CCCU is a state chartered credit union supervised by the Iowa Credit Union Division and insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). The NCUA insures member share accounts up to $250,000 per member. The NCUA is the most secure and strongest of the federal savings insuring agencies. We offer several dividend-bearing share savings accounts and encourage our members to save in order to build economic security for themselves and their families. In addition to our savings portfolio, we offer a variety of consumer loans: car loans, personal loans and home equity loans. We also provide a variety of mortgage loan products along with a pre-approval program.

Community Choice Credit Union, formerly known as State Employees Credit Union, was established in 1953 to serve employees of the State of Iowa and their family members. During the first 47 years of service, CCCU has undergone several changes to its initial charter. 1996 proved to be one of many significant changes. We were approved for a community charter with the Iowa Credit Union Division and since that time we have expanded membership to anyone living or working in Adair, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Union, and Warren Counties, and including family members of those eligible for membership. With the change to a "community" credit union came our name change to State Employees Community Credit Union. In June 2000, we changed our name to Community Choice Credit Union to reflect our commitment to the community of Central Iowa, as well as, the community of State of Iowa Employees. We have also expanded to serve health related professionals, employees and volunteers of Mercy Health Center of Central Iowa and its directly associated subsidiaries, affiliates, clinics and health care providers, who are a strong component of Community Choice Credit Union. Membership is also available for relatives of individuals whom are eligible for membership.

CCCU, an operation that once began in the back room of an office in the Capitol complex, is now a multimillion-dollar operation. We currently have six locations in the Des Moines metro area. Our Downtown office is located on Lyon Street near the Capitol, our Clive office is on the west side on 114th Street, our Johnston office is located at the corner of 86th Street and N.W. 62nd Avenue, our Altoona office is located at 818 8th Street SW in Altoona, our Ankeny office is located at 2710 S. Ankeny Blvd and our Ames office is located at 212 E Lincoln Way.